Board of Directors and Council

Board of Directors

Reykjavik University's Board of Directors is made up of five full members and one alternate member, each elected at RU's annual meeting. The Board of Directors is responsible for planning, administration, finance, determining tuition fees, and general operations. The President of RU attends meetings of the Board of Directors.

  • Hjörleifur Pálsson, Chairman of the RU Board of Directors, Business Administrator 
  • Ásta Fjeldsted, Managing Director, Icelandic Chamber of Commerce
  • Frosti Ólafsson, CEO, ORF Genetics 
  • Guðrún Hafsteinsdóttir, Chairman of SI - the Federation of Icelandic Industries
  • Halldór Benjamín Þorbergsson, Managing Director, SA-Business Iceland


The University Council of Reykjavik University operates as a forum for discussions regarding academic policy, teaching and research and collaboration with industry. The Council has ten members representing industry, academia and government. 

The President of RU arranges and attends the meetings of the Council. Deans of RU Schools and the president of the student union also attend.

Members are:

  • Hjörleifur Pálsson, Chairman of RU University Council, Business Administrator 
  • Arndís Kristjánsdóttir, Lawyer
  • Ragnar Guðmundsson, CEO of Norðurál

  • Eyjólfur Árni Rafnsson, Chairman of SA-Business Iceland, President
  • Georg Lúðvíksson, CEO of Meniga
  • Guðrún Hafsteinsdóttir, Chairman of SI - the Federation of Icelandic Industries, Marketing Director of Kjörís
  • Hreggviður Jónsson, Chairman of Veritas Capital
  • Hörður Arnarson, CEO of Landsvirkjun
  • Katrín Olga Jóhannesdóttir, Chairman of the Iceland Chamber of Commerce 
  • Kristín Friðgeirsdóttir, Professor at London Business School and lecturer at RU MBA

Was the content helpful? Yes No