Meet the new directors of RU's Student Union


Earlier this spring, the students at RU elected a new administration for their Student Union, most often referred to as SFHR. The Union's president for the 2016-2017 academic year is Rebekka Rún Jóhannesdóttir. Skúli Þór Árnason is vice president, Kristinn Guðmundsson is treasurer, Erna Sigurdardottir is student officer, and Íris Björk Snorradóttir is information officer.

Members of the new RU Student Union stand side by side From left: Erna Sigurðardóttir, Kristinn Guðmundsson, Rebekka Rún Jóhannesdóttir, Skúli Þór Árnason and Íris Björk Snorradóttir. 

The role of the Student Union is to protect the interests of RU students. All students are automatically members of the Union and do not pay fees for their membership. Some of the key points for the Student Union the next year will be, according to the new president: 

"We will continue the campaign for better conditions for students with regards to loans and housing, which is an ongoing issue in a way and continues from one year to the next. We will also work closely with the University when it comes to the development of the new student social club and the new campus. We aim to coordinate further procedures within student associations in each department and take our part in strengthening the new national student association."

The RU Student Union also monitors opportunities for better teaching and conditions at RU. "We are lucky here because we study at a University that is modern and employs many of the most recent teaching methods, plus it has an important link to industry. There is however always room for improvement and keeping everyone on their toes is really the mission of the Reykjavik University Student Union."