Changes in structure of departments and schools at RU


The structure of academic schools and departments within Reykjavik University (RU) will be changed on March 1st. This change will not affect the availability or structure of any study programs at the university.

The current four schools will be split into seven departments; Computer Science, Business, Science and Engineering, Law, Sport Science, Psychology and Applied Engineering. These seven departments will be assigned to two schools, each headed by a dean. The school for Business, Law, Psychology and Sport Science departments will be headed by Dr. Ragnhildur Helgadóttir, while the school for Engineering, Computer Science and Applied Engineering departments will be headed by Dr. Gisli Hjalmtysson. Dr. Bryndis Bjork Asgeirsdottir will lead the Psychology Department, Dr. Hafrun Kristjansdottir will lead the Psychology Department and Dr. Hera Grimsdottir, will lead the Applied Engineering Department.

The objective of these changes is to further strengthen teaching, research and innovation in the diverse subjects found within Reykjavik University, while also making the university better equipped to meet new opportunities and demands stemming from the ongoing technology revolution. With the revised organisation structure, RU will be in a better position to carry out its strategic objectives; to improve the competiveness and quality of life, for its students, society and industry. Furthermore, the establishment of the new departments reflects the realities of development at the university, with demand for studies in sport science and psychology having grown significantly in recent years.