Double Degree Programme 
Computer Science - RU and The University of Camerino

UNICAM, 2 years full time, 120 ECTS, taught degree

Language of instruction: English
Start date:
January and August each year


The School of Computer Science of RU and the Faculty of Science and Technology of the University of Camerino (UNICAM) offers a two-year (120 ECTS) Double Degree Programme in Computer Science.

Upon successful completion of the Double Degree Programme students are awarded with the following titles:

  • Master in Computer Science (M.Sc.) from the School of Computer Science of RU and
  • Laurea Specialistica/Magistrale in Informatica (Master in Computer Science) from the Faculty of Science and Technology of UNICAM.

The University of Camerino - UNICAM

Camerino is an historic hill-top town in the Apennine mountains located 200 kilometres northeast of Rome, midway between Ancona and Perugia. The University of Camerino was established in 1336 and thus has over six and a half centuries of history. Today more than 10,000 students attend the University distributed throughout its 5 faculties (Architecture, Pharmacy, Law, Veterinary Medicine, Science and Technology). There are 297 teachers (meaning there is 1 teacher for every 34 students) and 312 technical-administrative clerks.

UNICAM has an important tradition in didactics and in scientific research: there are numerous and innovative degrees being offered in the different faculties including Masters degrees, and many of its professors have received prestigious national and international recognition.

The Ducal Palace - Part of the UNICAM premises    

The Ducal Palace - Part of the UNICAM premises


UNICAM and RU offer three scholarships per institution for students attending their postgraduate degree courses in computer science. The six-month scholarship amounts to EUR 3,000.00 – or a montly payment of EUR 500.00 (app. 90,000.00 ISK).

Contact and further information


MSc Computer Science- Double Degree UNICAM

The programme is divided between 90 ECTS of coursework and a 30 ECTS final thesis. The 90 ECTS coursework is divided between 30 ECTS of compulsory courses, 18 ECTS elective courses, and 42 ECTS of compulsory courses in a chosen area of specialisation.

It is possible for students to choose between three different areas of specialisation:

  • Software Systems Engineering
  • Theoretical Computer Science
  • Intelligent Systems 

The programme requires that students spend at least two semesters at the host University (the first two or the last two semesters of their curriculum). Students can thus choose to commence their studies at either institution as long as they spend one year at each.


During the third semester students must identify and propose a joint research thesis, under the support of a joint tutorship between the two Universities. The work on the thesis will be performed at the University where the 4th semester is attended.  The thesis will be defended either (i) in the same location and evaluated by a joint committee, using online collaboration tools; or (ii) at both locations in two distinct periods.


Students wishing to pursue the programme with Reykjavik University as their home institution must apply through the regular admission procedure for the M.Sc. programme in Computer Science at RU. Admission is based upon the admission rules and criteria of the School of Computer Science and the recommendations of the Faculty of Science and Technology of UNICAM. Admission Requirements.

Contact us

If you have any questions or want to learn more about our programmes please contact:

Sigrún Maria Ammendrup
Programme Administrator
(+354) 599 6584

Office hours: Available by appointment


For international enquiries please contact:

Verity Louise Sharp
International Admissions Officer
(+354) 599 6200

Was the content helpful? Yes No